top of page

Editorial Board

Comprising about a dozen internationally recognized specialists for their expertise, it is placed under the responsibility of the editor-in-chief. The editorial board is responsible for the scheduling of the journal's issues, in conjunction with the scientific committee. It defines the content and the editorial calendar of the journal, invites scientific coordinators for dossiers, collaborates with them in the selection of proposed articles, organizes their evaluation, and validates revised versions. In case of divergent opinions among the reviewers or if there persists a doubt impeding arbitration, it may request additional opinions.

Members of the Editorial Board (in alphabetical order)

Mame-Penda Ba

Editor-in-Chief, Political Scientist, Gaston Berger University, Senegal

Faisal Garba

Deputy Editor-in-Chief, Sociologist, University of Cape Town, South Africa

S​ara Mejdoubi

Deputy Editor-in-Chief, Linguist, International University of Rabat, Morocco

Mohamed Jouili

Deputy Editor-in-Chief, Anthropologist, University of La Manouba, Tunisia

Toussaint Kafarhire

Deputy Editor-in-Chief, Political Scientist, African Studies Association of Africa, Ghana

Olivier Dangles

Biodiversity, Science of Sustainable Development, Research Institute for Development, France

Philippe Lavigne-Delville

Anthropologist, Research Institute for Development, France

Frederique Louveau

Anthropologist, Gaston Berger University, Senegal

Nadine Machikou

Political Scientist, University of Yaoundé, Cameroon

Uchenna Okeja

Philosopher, University of Rhodes, South Africa

Mireille Razafindrakoto

Economist and Statistician, Research Institute for Development (IRD), France

Cheikh Sadibou Sakho

Sociologist and Anthropologist, Gaston Berger University, Senegal

Scientific Board

The scientific council comprises over twenty international figures, representing various disciplines within the realms of social and environmental sciences. Beyond providing intellectual assurance for the journal, it takes an active role in suggesting directions to the editorial board, proposing scientific coordinators for thematic issues. Its members epitomize the journal's transdisciplinary and global stance, encompassing diverse disciplines, perspectives, geographical origins, and languages of expression (English, French, Arabic, Swahili).

(in alphabetical order)

Akosua Ampofo (President)

Gender Studies, African Studies Association for Africa

Reda Benkirane

Sociology, Mohammed VI Polytechnic University

Dominique Darbon

Political Science, Africas in the world

Souleymane Bachir Diagne

Philosophy, Columbia University

Mamadou Diouf

History, Columbia University


Fatima Harrak

History and Political Science, Institute of African Studies, Mohammed V University


Bouchra Sidi Hida

Social Sciences and Governance, Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa


Zahia Jouirou

Islamic Studies and Comparative Religions, University of La Manouba


Ibrahima Kane

Human Rights, Open Society Foundations, African Union


Foued Laroussi

Linguistics, University of Rouen


Cecilia Lynch

Political Science, International Relations, University of California at Irvine


Walter Mignolo

Anthropology, Duke University


Celestin Monga

Economics, World Bank, Harvard University


Pap Ndiaye

History, Science Po Paris, National Museum of the History of Immigration


Mbissane Ngom

Law, Gaston Berger University


Stefan Ouma

Geography, University of Bayreuth


Philippe Peycam

History, International Institute for Asian Studies


Estienne Rodary

Geography and Political Science, Research Institute for Development


Francois Roubaud

Economics, Research Institute for Development


Fatima Sadiqi

Linguistics and Gender Studies, University of Fez


Felwine Sarr

Economics, Duke University


Fatou Sow

Gender Studies, National Center for Scientific Research, Cheikh Anta Diop University​


Ibrahima Thioub

History, Cheikh Anta DIOP University


Paul Tiyambe Zeleza

Economics, United States International University

Editorial Team


Mame-Penda Ba

Iconographic Thread Manager

Mame-Penda Ba

Publishing Secretary

Fatimatou Dia


Translation Manager

Fatimatou Dia

Editorial Manager

Mouhamed Koudous Amoussa

Editorial Assistant

Mamadou Lamine Diandy

bottom of page